General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the gun is to be used.

Check the status of an EXISTING order: CLICK HERE

Generally, laws require the following:

  • Permits to buy handguns in North Carolina can be obtained from the county sheriff (or, in 10 counties, the clerk of superior court). In Guilford County it is the Sheriff's Office. The Cost is $5.00.
  • Gun purchase permit applications must be completed online and will be processed on normal business days (Monday-Friday 8:00 AM-5:00 PM). Click the "Let's get Started" button to apply for a permit.

Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcuts, please practice firearms safety, it could well save your life.

At this time we are requesting you not to call our office as we are dilegently working on your permits. Each call delays the processing of your permit. 

ALSO: Include a copy of your drivers license when you submit your mental release.

If your not a citizen: please include a copy (Front & Back) of your U.S. Permanent Resident Card (USCIS Form I-551).

Effective December 1, 2015


North Carolina General Statute 14-404(e1) requires applicants to sign a release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity for pistol purchase permits.

During the application process you will print off your mental release within seven (7) business days get that form notarized on your own and mail it into our office. The mailing address is: Guilford County Sheriff's Office Attn: Pistol Permits 201 S. Eugene St. Ste 103LE Greensboro, NC 27401.

Your application process will not begin until this final step has been completed. We DO NOT edit, reprint, copy or modify any permit. If you have an error on your permit you will simply have to re-apply.  

 

Let's Get Started



Handgun Purchase Permit Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

Applicant Must:

  • be a citizen, a naturalized citizen or a resident alien;
  • be twenty-one (21) years of age for an unrestricted permit;
  • If you are 18-20 years of age, your permit CAN NOT be used to purchase a firearm from a Federal Firearms Dealer;
  • have attained at least one month's residency in Guilford County;
  • at the time of pickup, provide a valid driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the State of North Carolina.

Please note that as part of the application process, you will authorize the Guilford County Clerk of Superior Court to inform the Sheriff of Guilford County whether or not the clerks’ records contain the record of any involuntary mental commitment proceeding under Article 5 of Chapter 122C of the General Statutes in which you have been named as a respondent. The purpose of this release is to enable the Sheriff to determine your qualification and competence to purchase and handle a handgun.

The Guilford County Sheriff’s department offers this online service as a convenience to the community. In addition to the per permit fee of $5, the system will charge a per transaction fee for the convenience of applying and paying for your permits online. The convenience fee is not collected by the Sheriff. This fee is paid to the company that provides this order, payment and processing system to the public. By doing so, you will not be charged the convenience fee. The total fee is non-refundableWe DO NOT edit, reprint, copy or modify any permit. If you have an error on your permit you will simply have to re-apply.  


For More Information, Contact:

 

Guilford County Sheriff's Office

Law Enforcement Center

(Located in Guilford Co. Courthouse)

Lower Ground Level Suite 103LE
201 S Eugene St. Ste. 103LE
Greensboro, NC 27401

Phone: 336-641-3005

High Point Detention Center
507 E. Green Drive
High Point, NC 27260

Phone: 336-641-7907
District 1
7506 Summerfield Rd.
Summerfield, NC 27358

Phone: 336-641-2300
District 2
5440 Millstream Road
McLeansville, NC 27301

Phone: 336-641-2680
District 3
211 Hillstone Drive
Jamestown, NC 27282

Phone: 336-641-6691

 

 

 

For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Email: help@permitium.com
Phone: (855) 642-2453


NC General Statute 14-315.1: Storage of firearms to protect minors

(a) Any person who resides in the same premises as a minor, owns or possesses a firearm, and stores or leaves the firearm (i) in a condition that the firearm can be discharged and (ii) in a manner that the person knew or should have known that an unsupervised minor would be able to gain access to the firearm, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if a minor gains access to the firearm without the lawful permission of the minor's parents or a person having charge of the minor and the minor:

  1. Possesses it in violation of G.S. 14-269.2(b);
  2. Exhibits it in a public place in a careless, angry, or threatening manner;
  3. Causes personal injury or death with it not in self defense; or
  4. Uses it in the commission of a crime.

(b) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a person from carrying a firearm on his or her body, or placed in such close proximity that it can be used as easily and quickly as if carried on the body.

(c) This section shall not apply if the minor obtained the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person.

(d) "Minor" as used in this section means a person under 18 years of age who is not emancipated. (1993, c. 558, s. 2; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 11.)